

MUSEUM COMMITTEE - ANNUAL REPORT 2005-6 6 May 2006

Membership: Mrs Fay Fyfe

Professor Paul Jowitt

Dr David McGuigan, Secretary Professor Roland Paxton, Chairman

Mr James Dignan Mr Ted Ruddock

Professor John Swaffield

Ex officio Mr Richard Williams (Local Association Secretary)

Although a quiet year in terms of acquisitions it has been quite an eventful year for the museum.

On Saturday 4th June a serious gas explosion occurred in the tower of Heriot-Watt University's Sir William Arrol Building above the foyer where the ICE Museum Collection was on display. The explosion caused substantial damage to the boiler plant and the fabric of the tower. Being at a lower level, the collection was fortunately undamaged. It was, however, dismantled in the hours following the explosion into storage away from the tower. The tower is now fully restored and back in use and new cases are on order to replace the water damaged ones. When these are assembled and in position it is planned remove the collection from storage and replace the exhibits in the cases. Photographs of the case layouts before the items were removed will prove useful in this work.

This year Professor Archer donated a ZX81 personal computer with attachments together with handbooks and slide rules. These items will complement our growing collection of calculators and early computing aids.

In our next annual report I confidently anticipate I will be reporting that the collection is back on permanent display.

David McGuigan

Secretary to the Museum Committee

E-mail: r.a.paxton@sbe.hw.ac.uk

David McGuigan, PhD CEng MICE MIHT DipTE

Secretary

64 Greenbank Crescent EDINBURGH EH10 5SW