ice | scotland



## Institution of Civil Engineers - Scotland Museum

12 November 2011

## MUSEUM COMMITTEE - ANNUAL REPORT 2010-11

Membership: Mrs Fay Fyfe Mr Bill Hodder Professor Paul Jowitt Dr David McGuigan, Secretary Professor Roland Paxton, Chairman Professor Garry Pender *Ex officio* Mr Ken Laing (Chairman ICE Scotland Committee)

We reported in last year's report that the website for the collection had been set up. Work has continued with the site and it is now linked to its own unique domain name to allow entries to be "crawled" by Google and other search engines. The host website remains as:

http://www.sbe.hw.ac.uk/ICE Museum/collection.htm

Any comments about the website would be gratefully received.

In August 2011 we held an Extraordinary Meeting of the Museum Committee to discuss the present state and future of the ICE Scotland Museum and the probable donation and management of major assets to the Museum from the current winding up of the Forth Bridges Visitors Centre Trust (FBVCT). This meeting agreed *inter alia* that:

- in principle the ICE Museum collection be passed to the Heriot–Watt University on the basis of a fixed term renewable loan. This is to be the subject of further discussion at a future working group meeting and final approval at a future Museum Committee meeting.
- in principle the Museum should pursue a possible donation of some items from the FBVCT if these become available and subject to space within the University.
- the committee would seek to recruit new blood to be involved with the curation of the collection. Anyone interested in playing such a role should contact me or Professor Roland Paxton.

We are always keen to enhance our collection and would be pleased to consider accepting any relevant items ICE members or friends may wish to donate.

David McGuigan Secretary to the Museum Committee

Chairman Professor Roland Paxton, MBE PhD DEng FRSE CEng FICE School of the Built Environment Heriot-Watt University EDINBURGH EH14 4AS Tel: 0131 451 4422/4644 Fax: 0131 451 4617 E-mail: r.a.paxton@sbe.hw.ac.uk Secretary David McGuigan, PhD CEng MICE MIHT DipTE 64 Greenbank Crescent EDINBURGH EH10 5SW Tel: 0131 447 3747 E-mail: davidmcguigan@btopenworld.com