## ice | scotland



## Institution of Civil Engineers - Scotland Museum

25 October 2013

## **MUSEUM COMMITTEE - ANNUAL REPORT 2012-13**

Membership: Mrs Fay Fyfe

Professor Paul Jowitt

Dr David McGuigan, Secretary Professor Roland Paxton, Chairman

Professor Garry Pender Mrs Anne Ormston

Ex officio (Chairman ICE Scotland Committee)

The Committee has enjoyed a relatively busy year both in terms of acquisitions and visitors to the museum.

We are in the final stages of completing a loan agreement with the National Railway Museum for two Forth Bridge items: a connecting pin (reported last year) and a hydraulic riveter used to construct the bridge. We hope to have these on display later this year. Other acquisitions include a collection of drawing pens and stencils, an Arrol Medal, a rail section and other Forth Bridge related items.

Visitors to the Museum have included Heriot-Watt Engineering Alumni (Year of 1967) and a group from the American Society of Civil Engineers on a visit to Scotland.

The Committee has just begun the process of updating our existing permanent loan agreement with the Heriot-Watt University to bring it into line with up-to-date standards. These standards dictate that loans should be time limited. This process will continue into 2014 and our next report will provide an update on the situation.

The museum website link is <a href="http://www.sbe.hw.ac.uk/ICE\_Museum/collection.htm">http://www.sbe.hw.ac.uk/ICE\_Museum/collection.htm</a> and any comments and suggested improvements about it would be gratefully received. The web site continues to attract public enquiries.

Mrs Fay Fyfe stood down from the Committee at the recent Annual Meeting and Professor Paxton thanked her on behalf of the Committee for her many years of service to the Museum. The Committee remains keen to recruit new blood in its work with the curation and promotion of the collection. Anyone interested in playing such a role should contact me or Professor Roland Paxton.

Finally, as always, we are looking to enhance our collection and would be pleased to consider accepting any relevant items ICE members or friends may wish to donate.

David McGuigan

Secretary to the Museum Committee

Chairman

Professor Roland Paxton, MBE PhD DEng FRSE CEng FICE School of the Built Environment Heriot-Watt University EDINBURGH EH14 4AS

Tel: 0131 451 4422/4644 Fax: 0131 451 4617

E-mail: r.a.paxton@sbe.hw.ac.uk

Secretary
David McGuigan, PhD CEng MICE DipTE
64 Greenbank Crescent
EDINBURGH EH10 5SW
Tel: 0131 447 3747

E-mail: dandemcg@virginmedia.com