ice | scotland



Institution of Civil Engineers - Scotland Museum

04 October 2014

MUSEUM COMMITTEE - ANNUAL REPORT 2013-14

Membership:

Mr Derek Chambers Professor Paul Jowitt Dr David McGuigan, Secretary Professor Roland Paxton, Chairman Professor Garry Pender Mrs Anne Ormston *Ex officio* (Chairman ICE Scotland Committee)

This year Mr Derek Chambers FICE joined our committee and has been very active in promoting recent developments at the museum including fourteen new acquisitions which we have added to the collection bringing the total number to 382. They include a set of Stanley box wood scales (acquisition 2013/028) and several items relating to the Forth Bridges and Ballochmyle Viaduct.

The loan agreement with National Railway Museum for the Forth Bridge pin and riveter has been completed. The pin is now on permanent display and the riveter will soon be on display on a bespoke support and base currently being made. We plan to have a modest celebration at the museum to which interested parties will be invited when the riveter goes on display, hopefully before the year end. We have introduced new labels with enhanced information for all the items on display which have received favourable comments. In addition we hope to be able to place hangers from the South Portland Street Suspension Footbridge over the Clyde in Glasgow on permanent display later this year (acquisition 2004/003).

Visitors to the Museum have included Heriot-Watt engineering graduands, a group of former Lothian Regional Council civil engineers, a group of civil engineering graduates from Edinburgh University (1974) and Dr Charles Feuer, Stamford, Connecticut, USA. Later this month we will be hosting a visit from members of the Linlithgow Rotary Club. Our website continues to lead to acquisitions including a collection of Forth Road Bridge memorabilia containing an original "story book" for the 1965 film *The Forth Road Bridge* by Random Film Productions Ltd which was nominated for an Oscar in 1966 (acquisition 2014/007).

The process of updating our existing permanent loan agreement with the Heriot-Watt University (reported last year) continues and we hope to complete this soon.

Finally, as always, we are looking to enhance our collection and would be pleased to consider accepting any relevant items ICE members or friends may wish to donate.

David McGuigan Secretary to the Museum Committee

Chairman Professor Roland Paxton, MBE PhD DEng FRSE CEng FICE School of the Built Environment Heriot-Watt University EDINBURGH EH14 4AS Tel: 0131 451 4422/4644 Fax: 0131 451 4617 E-mail: r.a.paxton@sbe.hw.ac.uk Secretary David McGuigan, PhD CEng MICE DipTE 64 Greenbank Crescent EDINBURGH EH10 5SW Tel: 0131 447 3747 E-mail: dandemcg@virginmedia.com